Document Type


Date of Degree

Spring 2013

Degree Name

PhD (Doctor of Philosophy)

Degree In


First Advisor

Gompper, David K

First Committee Member

Fritts, Lawrence N

Second Committee Member

Hand, Gregory S

Third Committee Member

Platte, Nathan R

Fourth Committee Member

Van Herck, Bert J


Three Movements for Thirteen Instruments is a musical composition for large chamber ensemble, scored for flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, trumpet in C, horn in F, two percussion, two violins, viola, violoncello, and double bass. The composition is slightly over 15 minutes in duration and consists of three movements of contrasting character and thematic content that reflect the musical elements that most interest me at the moment: rhythm, counterpoint, melody, and tonality. The first movement is a developmental, syncopated fast movement. The second movement is slow and lyrical. The third movement is an incessant march that draws the work to a spirited conclusion. Three Movements for Thirteen Instruments was written for the University of Iowa Center for New Music Ensemble, and the ensemble has read it in order to secure ideas for orchestration.


iv, 64 pages


Copyright 2013 Shane Anthony Hoose

Included in

Music Commons