Document Type


Date of Degree

Fall 2009

Degree Name

DMA (Doctor of Musical Arts)

Degree In


First Advisor

Tse, Kenneth

First Committee Member

Coelho, Benjamin

Second Committee Member

Gier, David

Third Committee Member

Parker, Andrew

Fourth Committee Member

Barbuzza, Isabel


Juan Orrego-Salas has made a significant contribution to the world of Latin American music. One of the most well known composers from Chile, he has taught around the world and founded the Latin American Music Center at Indiana University. While at Indiana, Orrego-Salas began to write for the saxophone. To date, he has composed four chamber works for saxophone: Quattro Liriche Brevi, Opus 61 for alto saxophone and piano, Partita, Opus 100 for alto saxophone and piano trio, Secuencias, Opus 120 for alto saxophone and percussion, and Movimiento Concertante, Opus 123 for alto saxophone and string quartet. Orrego-Salas also included the alto saxophone in his scherzo for orchestra, Riley's Merriment, Opus 94. After a current biography of Juan Orrego-Salas, this document provides a history and performer's analysis of each of the chamber works including the discussion of any errata, where applicable.

Included in the appendices are documents that performers or teachers interested in Orrego-Salas' works might find useful. These include a letter written by Orrego-Salas to the master class participants of Eugene Rousseau titled, "The Saxophone and Me" and key articles found on the Internet about Orrego-Salas during the research of this document. Perhaps a source for future research will be the saxophone excerpt from Riley's Merriment, Opus 94 or the list of Chilean saxophone music compiled by Roger Greenberg.


Chile, Juan Orrego-Salas, Saxophone


x, 93 pages


Includes bibliographical references (pages 92-93).


This thesis has been optimized for improved web viewing. If you require the original version, contact the University Archives at the University of Iowa:


Copyright © 2009 Regina Anne Parks

Included in

Music Commons