Document Type


Date of Degree

Summer 2010

Degree Name

PhD (Doctor of Philosophy)

Degree In


First Advisor

Cheatum, Christopher

First Committee Member

Larson, Sarah A.

Second Committee Member

Margulis, Claudio J.

Third Committee Member

Rohde, Jan U.

Fourth Committee Member

Bogguss, Thomas H.


This dissertation presents preliminary work done to characterize new probes for infrared spectroscopy. The probes studied were the C-D stretch transition and the antisymmetric stretch transition of the azide anion. The techniques employed were transient grating spectroscopy and two dimensional infrared spectroscopy (2DIR). These studies provide information on the lifetime of the chromophores and Fermi Resonances of the chosen oscillators C-D stretch and azide antisymmetric stretch that were observed in the spectra. The first system chosen was a series of deuterated haloforms that include CDCl3, CDBr3 and CDI3. The vibrational lifetime of all three haloforms was measured in a polar solvent, acetone and a nonpolar solvent, benzene. The results were compared to literature values for their undeuterated haloform counterparts. Upon successful completion of the determination of the lifetimes of the deuterated haloforms, we continued the study of the C-D stretch for deuterated formic acid dissolved in hexane. A 2DIR spectrum of the formic acid -d dimer formed in hexane along with a deperturbation calculation determined the coupling constant between the bright state and dark state. The last system studied was the interaction of 3-azopyridine with a strong acid trifluoroacetic acid (TFA), and a weak acid, formic acid once again 2DIR spectroscopy and a deperturbation calculation determined the coupling constant between bright and dark states.


xiii, 139 pages


Includes bibliographical references (pages 128-139).


This thesis has been optimized for improved web viewing. If you require the original version, contact the University Archives at the University of Iowa:


Copyright 2010 Michael Walt Nydegger

Included in

Chemistry Commons